Ella Fitzgerald - Gettin' right down to business.

Ella Fitzgerald With The Lou Levy Quartet – Live In Amsterdam – 1961 – Past Daily Downbeat

Ella Fitzgerald – Gettin’ right down to business.

Click on the link here for Audio Player: EllaFitzgerald1961-02-18ConcertgebouwAmsterdamHolland

Something vocal this weekend. The immortal Ella Fitzgerald, accompanied by The Lou Levy Quartet, live at The Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and recorded by Radio Nederland on February 18, 1961.

A thoroughly enjoyable concert with everyone in top-notch form.

Here’s what’s on the player:

Ella Fitzgerald & the Lou Levy Quartet
Amsterdam (Concertgebouw)
18 February, 1961

Ella Fitzgerald (voc), Lou Levy (p), Herb Ellis (g), Wilfred Middlebrooks (b), Gus Johnson (d)

Track list:
01 Introduction (Norman Granz) (0:55)
02 Unidentified instrumental (by the trio) (8:22)
03 Too Close For Comfort (3:09)
04 On A Slow Boat To China (2:20)
05 How Long Has This Been Going On (2:51)
06 Heart And Soul (4:02)
07 You’re Driving Me Crazy (3:21)
08 That Old Black Magic (3:42)
09 Lover Come Back To Me (1:59)
10 My Funny Valentine (3:39)
11 I’ve Got A Crush On You (2:35)
12 Lorelei (3:22)
13 Mr Paganini (4:33)
14 Mack The Knife (3:52)
15 St Louis Blues (6:31)

A swinging set of numbers from one of the true Greats.


Liked it? Take a second to support gordonskene on Patreon!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.