Alicia De Larrocha With Sixten Ehrling And The Cleveland Orchestra Play Music of Weber, Beethoven And Nielsen – 1978 – Past Daily Mid-Week Concert

Alicia DeLarrocha plays Beethoven's Emperor this week.

Alicia DeLarrocha plays Beethoven‘s Emperor this week.

. . . or click on the link here for Audio Player – Cleveland Orch. Ehrling/DeLarrocha – Feb. 23, 1978 – Part 1

. . . or click on the link here for Audio Player – Cleveland Orch, Ehrling/DeLarrocha – Feb. 23, 1978 – Part 2

Another historic concert this week. The Cleveland Orchestra, guest conducted by Sixten Ehrling and featuring the legendary Alicia DeLarrocha playing the Beethoven Piano concerto Number 5 “Emperor”. The concert opens with Sixten Ehrling leading the Cleveland Orchestra in the overture to Euryanthe by Carl Maria von Weber and ending the concert with Carl Nielsen‘s Symphony Number 6 (Sinfonia Semplice). The concert was broadcast on February 23, 1978.

Here’s what’s on the players this week:

Cleveland Orch.
Sixten Ehrling, Cond.
Alicia De Larrocha, Piano

Part 1 (Top Player):
1.Weber: Euryanthe Overture
2.Beethoven: Piano Concerto Number 5 “Emperor” – w/ DeLarrocha

Part 2 (Bottom Player)
Nielsen: Symphony Number 6 (Sinfonia Semplice)

Enjoy and come back next week for another installment in our Anti-Road Rage Wednesday.

Liked it? Take a second to support gordonskene on Patreon!

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Jean Thorel says:

    Much looking forward to listening to this concert: Larrocha was a real musician and Nielsen 6 is seldom performed…..this last symphony is totally different from the 5 previous ones….its shape is so mysterious !!! Thanks Gordon.

  2. Mikhailovich Orlov says:

    nice wandering stereo image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.