Black Mountain

Black Mountain - Northwest punk, grunge and general weirdo outsider stuff. In a nutshell.

Black Mountain In Session – 2010 – Past Daily Soundbooth

Black Mountain
Black Mountain – Northwest punk, grunge and general weirdo outsider stuff. In a nutshell.

Black Mountain In session 2010 – BBC 6 Music –

Canadian Psych-meisters Black Mountain tonight, from a session recorded for BBC 6 Music in 2010.

In case ya don’t know: Black Mountain is a Canadian psychedelic rock band from Vancouver, British Columbia. The band is composed of Stephen McBean, Amber Webber, Matt Camirand, Jeremy Schmidt and Joshua Wells. Since forming in 2004, Black Mountain has released four LPs, Black Mountain (2005), In the Future (2008), Wilderness Heart (2010), and IV (2016), two EPs and a number of singles, mostly on the Jagjaguwar label.

While McBean and Wells were still performing as Jerk With a Bomb in 2003, McBean began to demo material that included the song “Black Mountain”. At the start of 2004, the two began working on the demos under the same name with contributions from Webber, bassist Matt Camirand and keyboard player Jeremy Schmidt. They recorded the eight track, self-titled debut album during the first half of the year. McBean would later describe the change as “it was almost like a release. I mean, I loved Jerk With A Bomb, but it got to a point where I was done with it, I was through with that part of my life”.

The first release under the new name was a split 7″ with Destroyer that featured the song “Bicycle Man”. The album was released in through Scratch Records in Canada in December 2004, while Jagjaguwar put it out a month later. The band toured around North America and Europe, while in June the 12″ single “Druganaut” b/w “Buffalo Swan” was released in the US. In August 2005 the band opened for Coldplay on their Twisted Logic Tour for three weeks, with their final opening in San Diego. In the same month the album was released in Germany through City Slang Records.

A vinyl single was released in April 2007 named “Surrender Sound Session: Unkle vs. Autolux/Black Mountain” with a remix of “No Hits” on the B side.

Their second album In the Future was a finalist for the 2008 Polaris Music Prize and was also nominated for “Best Alternative Album” in the 2009 Juno Awards. The song “Stay Free” from In the Future was featured on the Spider-Man 3 soundtrack.

In September 2010 Black Mountain performed in an amphitheater located in the woods of Oisterwijk at the Incubate (festival) in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Leader Stephen McBean also heads another similarly named band, Pink Mountaintops, while Webber performs with the band Kodiak Deathbeds and Lightning Dust.

Several members of the band have, for as long as a decade, worked for organizations that meet the basic living requirements of the chronically poor, drug addicted and mentally ill in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside neighborhood, such as Insite. In an interview, the band said: “After work we all try not to think too hard about the effect it has on our lives. It keeps us grounded.”

In 2010 McBean moved to Los Angeles. The band released their third album Wilderness Heart in September 2011, which was produced by Randall Dunn and Dave Sardy. It was named as a longlisted nominee for the 2011 Polaris Music Prize, and appeared on the !earshot Top 50 chart.

On April 1, 2016, they released their fourth studio album, IV.

If you didn’t already know, now you do. If you do already know, you’ve hit the play button by now.

In either case, play loud and savor Hump-Day and a reminder that it’s only 6 shopping days ’til Christmas.

Liked it? Take a second to support gordonskene on Patreon!